Virginia, Utah & Florida Additional Application Submittal Info

The completion certificate issued following the class permits you to begin the application process for a Virginia, resident or non-resident, concealed handgun permit (CHP).  If you are a VA Resident you will need to apply for the VA permit first before applying for the Utah permit. If you are a MD or DC resident you may apply right away for the Utah Non-Resident permit. Utah applications are submitted to the Utah Department of Public Safety for a 5-year non-resident concealed firearm permit (CFP) for a fee of $65.

(Note: A copy of the Virginia CHP must accompany the Utah application.) For residents that live in states that have formal reciprocity with Utah, i.e. VA. NOT MD or DC

Application for a 7- year permit to the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services requires a fee of $50. If you wish to apply in Florida you will need a affidavit signed by a NRA Instructor after he/she witness’s your shooting performance at a live fire range. IDS offers this additional service by request only. If you need a live fire affidavit then please email

(Note: Military and retired law enforcement personnel may qualify by submitting other acceptable paperwork in lieu of the affidavit.)

Our Mission

IDS focuses on teaching intuitive defensive handgun skills that lend themselves to efficiently handling a firearm in ways that are congruent with the body’s natural reactions under stress. This methodology allows us to better prepare our students for situations where drawing a firearm is a possibility.
Facebook Twitter YouTube LinkedIn
RSS Feed Instagram Google+